Single Review: Stacie Orrico “(There’s Gotta Be) More To Life”

(There’s Gotta Be) More to Life
Album: Stacie Orrico
Year: 2003

For teenage pop singers, they usually convey the image of being ordinary like a best friend or a big sister. But then they tend to disavow that image, either destroying it (Christina Aguilera to “Dirrty”, Jessica Simpson to “Newlywed.”) or gradually moving away from it (Britney, who by album three, had tried to become a sex kitten.) Stacie Orrico seems like she will might just stick with the ordinary angle.

She is also well-spoken and self-aware, qualities lacking in a majority of pop stars. In MTV.com, she is quoted as saying “I’ve watched so many singers who try to act but have no acting ability whatsoever. It’s like, OK, it’s great they let you play that part because you’re already famous, but you can’t act. I don’t think I have any ability.”

The perceptive “(There’s Got To Be) More to Life” has Orrico searching for reasons for being unhappy with her life. Singing from the point of view of a well-adjusted person with family, friends, a job, etc., she sings “I’ve got it all, but I feel so deprived/I go up, I come down/and I’m emptier inside.” In the chorus, she sings “there’s gotta be more to life/
than chasing down every temporary high to satisfy me” She continues in the second verse that she moves through life too quickly to actually enjoy it (I’ve got the time and I’m wasting it slowly
Here in this moment I’m half way out the door/Onto the next thing, I’m searching for something that’s missing.”

Stacie Orrico’s voice is tinny, which is a fault of overproduction. Without it, she displays a growing voice, with few flaws. But while she missed the pop star train by a couple years, she has a future in songwriting.

Standard

Leave a Reply

