Single Review: Vitamin C “Me, Myself and I”

Me, Myself and I
Album: Vitamin C
Year: 1999

Vitamin C began her pop star career with the brilliant “Me, Myself and I”. Smart and self-reliant, she discards men who don’t treat her right with chic dance-pop beats.

Pop can’t be pop without the ever reliable cowbell, which starts the song. In the first verse, she is sly as she sings about a man who was around to sleep with her. However, he ignored her when she needed someone talked to. Instead, he wanted to hang out with his friends and show off his car. (“You know he was the one who never left me alone/ until I really needed to reach him on the telephone/ he was nowhere to be found he’s hanging out with the boys/ driving all around the city in his pretty new toy”).

There’s a bridge preceding each chorus which has the background singers chiming in her situation. They think she will “never gonna get it together/never gonna get any better.” Then, she raps (yes, raps) successfully about deciding if she should leave the relationship or not (“should I stay or should I go because I really need to know/or do I stick around and cry cause now it’s time to say goodbye”). The bridge ends with her boyfriend begging, “please, baby, please.” It sounds like a remarkably busy section of the single. However, it is a quick, smooth transition to the chorus. Here, she makes up her mind to stay on her own. (” I ain’t got nobody that I can depend on/just me, myself and I”).

In the second verse, she sings about an ex-boyfriend who had a wandering eye. He, of course, denied he was looking at other girls but still cheated on her anyway. (“Then there was the one who couldn’t make up his mind/ he’s always checking every chickie at the checkout line/ he told me “baby I’m just looking but I never would touch”/ then I catch him with Alicia at the back of the bus”). She’s matter-of-fact in her delivery. Despite her non-existent voice (she talks, really), she is able to expressive. Towards the end of the song, she says “2-4-6-8 why don’t you appreciate/me” without sounding corny. Instead, she’s tongue-in-cheek. Once she closes the single with “me, me, me/that’s why it’s the supposed to be” in a low, sexy voice, it’s believable.

Vitamin C was unlikely pop star who could’ve become a cult favorite. However, she squandered her fame and potential in sub-par material and merchandising in every outlet possible.

Standard

Leave a Reply

