Single Review: Avril Lavigne “My Happy Ending”

My Happy Ending
Album: Under My Skin
Year: 2004

I’ve been a fan of Gilmore Girls since the beginning. The show centers around Lorelei and Rory Gilmore, a mother and daughter respectively, who live in Stars Hollow which is a small town in Connecticut. They love, they fight, they drink coffee all with witty dialogue. Rory Gilmore appealed to the most. She liked to read. She was studious and naive that boys liked her for her those reasons. However, in the fifth season, Rory has become insufferable. She doesn’t know how to fun and has become a snob to those who are not like her.

In the fourth episode of this season, she’s over at her boyfriend Dean’s house. His little sister is home, playing Avril Lavigne’s “My Happy Ending.” Rory says to Dean, “we need to introduce her to better music” or something to that effect. She’s twelve, Rory, she’s supposed to like Avril Lavigne. Is she not the same girl who would watch ‘The Donna Reed Show’ for irony’s sake? I don’t even know her character anymore. But I digress.

In “My Happy Ending,” Avril Lavigne is dealing with yet another breakup. Written by Butch Walker with probably a lyric added by Lavigne, Lavigne is questioning herself and what her relationship was really like with him.

She can’t believe he is really breaking up with her. Insecure, she feels like she missed a signal from him. He wants the end the conversation, however, she needs to know where she stands. (“let’s talk this over/it’s not like we’re dead/was it something I did/was it something you said/don’t leave me hanging/in a city so dead”). There’s a rule in writing (and I’ve broken it a few times here, though): don’t use the exact adjective or words to describe it again in the next paragraph.”In a city so bleak” could’ve been used and make the same point. Not every word has to rhyme. The most memorable music doesn’t even adhere to the rhyming rule.

She goes on to say she’s will break down (“held up so high/on such a breakable thread”). She’s changed her opinion about him and thinks of him as a different person now (“You were all the things I thought I knew/And I thought we could be”).

She thought he had all the qualities she was looking for and that they would be together for a long time. (“You were everything, everything that I wanted/We were meant to be, supposed to be, but we lost it.”) The relationship is false to her and doesn’t see the point of remembering them since everything was a lie. She has given up on the relationship (“and all of the memories, so close to me, just fade away/All this time you were pretending/So much for my happy ending”).

She had a tense relationship with his friends. His friends hated her and she didn’t like them back, which probably led to their breakup. Her boyfriend was maybe tired of being put in the middle. (“You’ve got your dumb friends/I know what they say/They tell you I’m difficult/But so are they”). She points out they didn’t make an effort to get to know her and he only has a surface friendship with them. She also makes another point (although implied): he doesn’t know himself. He doesn’t talk to her and doesn’t treat her right. (“All the things you hide from me/All the shit that you do”). Lavigne obviously has low to no expectations for a fulfilling relationship. She should be grateful it’s over and can find somebody better.

She gets sarcastic in the bridge. She basically says, “thanks for nothing, you lying, emotionally unavailable, inconsiderate jerk” (“It’s nice to know that you were there/Thanks for acting like you cared/And making me feel like I was the only one/It’s nice to know we had it all/Thanks for watching as I fall/And letting me know we were done”).

In Avril Lavigne’s world, a fairytale relationship is filled with deception, uncommunicative partners, and disrepectful friends. It’s like a musical version of the Maury Povich Show. Nonetheless, it’s a guilty pleasure and as predictable as Maury. Avril’s going to fall in love with a boy and then kick him to the curb once he cheats. She claims it’s over and will her move her chair. But she will be back in those video messages smiling with her boyfriend, telling Maury they decided to give their relationship another chance.

Standard

Leave a Reply

