Single Review: Gwen Stefani & Eve “Rich Girl”

Rich Girl
Album: Love, Angel, Music, Baby
Year: 2004

Gwen Stefani wishes for a decadent lifestyle in R&B dance-pop of “Rich Girl.”
She sees her wealth unlimited. For her, it’s also getting her respect and control in who she would date (“See, I’d have all the money in the world, if I was a wealthy girl/No man could test me, impress me, my cash flow would never ever end”). She would buy expensive clothing and jewelry just because she could or whatever else she desires. (“Think what that money could bring/I’d buy everything/Clean out Vivienne Westwood/In my Galliano gown/
No, wouldn’t just have one hood/A Hollywood mansion if I could/Please book me first class to my fancy house in London town”).

However, she’s in love with her boyfriend and knows his love is better than anything she could acquire. (“ll the riches baby, don’t bring what your love can bring/All the riches baby, won’t mean anything/Don’t need no other baby/Your lovin’ is better than gold and I know”).

She starts to wish again with “if I was a rich girl/la la la la la.” This time, she adds she would find an Asian subculture to use a gimmick for her solo album after being in a super successful band. Then, use it to sell her album and provide publicity for her clothing line. La La La. While she doesn’t say this directly, it’s certainly implied (“‘d get me four Harajuku girls to
Inspire me and they’d come to my rescue/I’d dress them wicked, I’d give them names/Love, Angel, Music, Baby/Hurry up and come and save me”).

After the chorus, Eve joins in with her rap. Eve is wooden and simply going through the motions as she raps “Come together all over the world/From the hoods of Japan Harajuku girls/What? It’s all love/What? Give it up/What? (shouldn’t matter) What?” She lets people know that this is the second time she and Gwen have collaborated together, it’s a new song, and it’s something people can’t buy. (“Chicks dat blew ya mind, ding, it’s the second round
Original track and ring/You know you can’t buy these things”). Logic has slipped from Eve’s mind considering people will be buying the album. Hence, it able to be bought. Eve also gets to cross-promote Stefani’s fashion line and her own, Fetish and mention people know who she is. Yeah, if they only watch the UPN and don’t have any other channel. (“See Stefani and her L.A.M.B I rock the fetish people you know who I am”).

Stefani and Eve then brag their style is “wicked” and people will be trying to keep up with them. She sings about how she went from rags to riches and is now able to afford to get high. (“Yes ma’am, we got the style that’s wicked/I hope you can all keep up/We climbed all the way from the bottom to the top/now we ain’t gettin’ nothing but low”).

“Rich Girls” flaws are in its shameless cross-promotion of merchandise which is not the product. Her album is named after her fashion line (L.A.M.B.) and the single mentions it. By cross-promoting heavily, the music ceases to be and becomes an advertisement for the outside product. Otherwise, the R&B dance-pop is a great fit for the single. It has an 80s flair to it which is approriate considering the 80s were the time that being materialistic was celebrated.

Standard

Leave a Reply

