Single Review: Third Eye Blind “Blinded (When I See You)”

Blinded (When I See You)
Album: Out of the Vein
Year: 2003

In “Blinded” Stephan Jenkins is lovestruck and vulnerable as deals with a girlfriend who has now become a friend.

In the first verse, he reveals they broke up but under good terms. They consider themselves friends. However, Jenkins is unsure of how to act as friends. He still does things he did when they were a couple (letting himself in without knocking on the door). The little things she did which aroused him still do. However, he’s not supposed to feel that way about her anymore. He rather be emotionally and physically intimate with her, like they used to be.

He rather forgot about the hurt feelings and return to being a couple again. (“Just an old friend coming over now to visit you and/That’s what I’ve become/I let myself in though I know I’m not supposed to…And I see you fogging up the mirror…And I want to stay right here and go down on you for an hour/Or stay, and let the day just fade away…never look back at all the damage we have done now/to each other”).

In the chorus, he shouts from frustration that he only sees in a romantic way. (“And I’m blinded/There’s nothing left to do/Still I see you”).

He talks how sayings like “things happen for a reason” really don’t mean anything at all. He’s honest with her as he thanks her for the experience and wouldn’t have it any other way. (” never believed that things they happen for a reason…I wanted to thank you for a vision that was lost that you returned but/You’re passed do you understand”).

In the third verse, he talks about his ex-girlfriend’s feelings about what he just said. She didn’t like what she heard and he’s at a loss for words. Instead, he responds indifferently despite not meaning it. However, he’s willing to fight for their relationship. (“Except she a little angry, grabs a towel and looks away…And I fall down on what to say/Oh something clean let me be clever/Hey oh well whatever/But that’s not what I mean…Still I won’t turn now from a fight you know I’ll never win”).

In the bridge, he thinks that eventually people become their actions. He recongnizes his past actions in the relationship were stupid and hurtful. However, throughout the relationship, he always believed in her (“Time passes and it tells us what we’re left with/We become the things we do…I didn’t give up on you”).

In the fourth verse, he compares himself to Icarus, which is really unusual. He then says he can’t promise he won’t the same mistakes again. But he thinks they will be able to pull through this time. However, the last lyrics were all just a dream in his head. However he has hope. (“But I can’t promise I will mend or bend/When you believe that we are fixed now from our birth/Still you know I’ll try again/And I’ve just fallen back to earth”)

At times, Jenkins needs an editor to take away the unnecessary lyrics (“Icarus is not a tee-shirt/a swan song, no/He is born again”). Jenkins is usually best at being point blank. However, when complicated metaphors or archaic phrases (“stolen manners”) are used, it sounds really out of place. The Icarus metaphor comes out of nowhere and is condensed to a blurb. In order for it to have worked, the idea should’ve been brought it up early on in the song.

Standard

Leave a Reply

