Single Review: Britney Spears “Do Somethin'”

Do Somethin’
Album: Greatest Hits – My Prerogative
Year: 2005

In Britney Spears’ current Letter of Truth (aka Letter of Unconvicing Explanations), she backpedals, takes shots at her record label, and reinforces her new image as the former glamorous pop star/crazy dog girl.

A few choice, laughable samples from the letter: “I think I should rephrase myself from my previous letters when I was talking about taking a “break”. What I meant was I am taking a break from being told what to do…I was a little disappointed that I still had to convince my record label that making this video was the right thing to do at this time….I have a new dog named Lucky and I just bought her a new dresser for her room. Yes, she has a room, which she shares with Bit Bit. For Christmas, they got a baby chandelier to go in it. It’s the cutest thing in the world!”

Released only in the UK, “Do Somethin'” has Spears in her favorite place: the dancefloor. Beginning with the standard intro, Spears asks people if they are read, but she thinks they are not. (“Do you feel this/I know you feel this/Are you ready?/I don’t think so”). Backed by a dated Super Nintendo video game beat, Spears chokes out incomplete sentences and nonsensical lyrics like a hungover Betty Boop. (“Somebody give me my truck/So I can ride on the clouds/So I can turn up the bass like…”).

In the chorus, Spears derides those who aren’t dancing and finds them bothersome (“Whatchu gonna do when the croud goes Ayo?/Why you standin’ on the wall?/Music startin’ everywhere/So why dont you just move along?”).

She continues the rant in the second verse (“I see you lookin at me/Like I’m some kind of freak/Get up out of your seat/Why dont you do somethin’?”). In the third verse, she assumes people are staying away from her because she’s so cool and honest about herself (“Now you all in my grill/Cause I say what I feel/Only rocks on what’s real”). She puts down the introverted clubber some more by saying the person can’t hang with her. Perhaps it’s could be the person can see through her vain personality? (“But I can’t do that with you/Only here with my crew/I can roll if you can/don’t be a punk punk”).

By the end, she’s insufferable. If anyone dares to look at her and her friends, they want to be Britney. She’s acting like she owns the club. (“I see you lookin’ over here/Can’t you tell I’m havin’ fun/If you care like I know/You would stop/starin’ at us/And get your own space/And do somethin'”).

The vain, delusional “Do Somethin'” assumes everyone who’s listening to it wants to be famous and best friends with Britney. It’s the pop star lifestyle Britney wanted to keep having minus the actual work: everyone in awe, being the coolest person in the club, having all the attention.

Standard

Leave a Reply

