Single Review: Evanescence “Bring Me To Life”

Bring Me to Life
Album: Fallen
Year: 2003

When Evanescence first debuted, the album was sold only in Christian and non-secular stores, according to allmusic.com. A Rolling Stone interview on June 26, 2003 put an end to that. Perhaps purposely. Ben Moody talked about Amy Lee puking on him a countless number of times while Lee calls their original Christianity roots among people’s “misconceptions” of the band. Except Moody once said Evanescence’s key message was “God is love,” thereby making it a perception.

Lee and Moody made the right decision by downplaying it. If they had denied it, it would’ve blown up in their faces. However, Moody’s quote “do you know how many times Amy has puked on me?” reeks of sabotage. They really want to the put the stereotypical rock star image out there but not alienate a potential market. It’s shouting “Yeah! We love to party and to drink and to swear! Yeah!” then meekly saying, “but we do love God a little.”

Beginning softly with the piano, a troubled Lee asks an unexpected love interest: “how can you see through my eyes like open doors/leading you down into my core”). She’s dead inside and finally finds some hope in him (“where I’ve become so numb without a soul my spirit sleeping somewhere cold/until you find it there and lead it back home”).

Then rapper Paul McCoy of the unknown band 12 Stones pops in by repeating “wake me up” in a petulant tone. Meanwhile, Lee is singing in a pained, longing voice for the guy to “wake me up/call my name and save me from the dark/bid my blood to run/before I come undone/save me from the nothing I’ve become”).

She doesn’t want him to leave her and pleads for him to stay (“now that I know what I’m without/you can’t just leave me”). The guy is going to be her rock. In other words, she’s going to be co-dependent on him for her own happiness. (“breathe into me and make me real”).

A pseudo spooky narration of Lee’s thoughts continues with another band member whispering “I’ve been living a lie/there’s nothing inside”). Having Lee say it underneath her own vocals would’ve added a stream-of-conciousness effect to it. Instead listeners get a band member who sounds like he’s telling a ghost story the first time as a counselor at summer camp. Lee gets to complete the bridge. She tells him he’s the only person who has ever seemed real to her (“frozen inside without your touch without your love darling only you are the life among the dead”).

Then Paul McCoy’s needles rap begins with him rapping from Lee’s point of view. He really should have the point of view of the love interest but instead steals from Angel’s speeches to Buffy circa season two.(“all this time I can’t believe I couldn’t see/kept in the dark but you were there in front of me…got to open my eyes to everything/without a thought without a voice without a soul/don’t let me die here.”).

The death imagery is not as creepy as it wants to be nor is it as clever (although “my spirit sleeping cold somewhere” lyric is the exception). Lee can sing her heart out and is able to convey pain. However, the rap is distracting and brings nothing to it.

Standard

One thought on “Single Review: Evanescence “Bring Me To Life”

  1. Pingback: Imagine Dragons And Green Days | Life In Pakistan

Leave a Reply

