Single Review: Kelly Rowland “Can’t Nobody”

Can’t Nobody
Album: Simply Deep
Year: 2003

In the infectious, overlooked “Can’t Nobody,” Kelly Rowland convinces her boyfriend to stay with her.

Her boyfriend has been giving her signs lately that’s he’s going to break up with her. Rowland says it’s a game he’s playing and would only be leaving on a whim. He would miss her kisses and won’t be as happy to see anyone else when he gets home from work. (“trying to let you know what it’s all about/I know you wanna leave/so many little games silly people play/don’t act foolishly….my love my kiss so sweet, glorious/the look on your face/anyone can see/no one does it like me”).

No one will love him like she does, she says in the chorus. (“can’t nobody do it like me”).

He’s ticked off about a mistake she’s made. She expected him to be angry once she told him what she did. He’s ready to leave but she explains she’s not into the whole on-off relationship thing. Once it’s over, it’s over. They are right for each other and ending the relationship would be a mistake. (“I need you please to relax/I know I messed up but if you leave me now/ain’t no coming back, no more no me no you/see I’m the only one that can love you/babe, you’re not that big a fool”).

The single’s pounding drum beat, which starts the song and the retro keyboard accompaniant (adding an ’80s Grandmaster Flash feel) give “Can’t Nobody” it’s luster. While Rowland’s music is overshadowed by the success by the of Beyonce’s, it is certainly of better quality.

Standard

Leave a Reply

