Single Review: Lisa Lisa and the Cult Jam “All Cried Out”

All Cried Out
Album: Lisa Lisa and the Cult Jam with Full Force
Year: 1986

In the 80s, Lisa Lisa and the Cult Jam helped to popularize the genre of R&B dance (or freestyle as it was known then.)

One of their biggest hits is the ballad, “All Cried Out,” in which Lisa Lisa and her boyfriend break up. Her boyfriend hadn’t acknowledged her when she went to see him last night. She’s hurt and has been crying after finding out he has lied to her again. (“Inside I’m slowly dying/But the rain will hide my crying…And you, don’t you know my tears will burn the pillow/Set this place on fire ’cause I’m tired of your lies/All I needed was a simple “Hello”).

She was naive to think he could be in love with her, not her body. But she’s had enough of being in pain and having her emotions played upon (“Ah, I gave you my love in vain/My body never knew such pleasure/My heart never knew such pain/And you, you leave me so confused/Now I’m all cried out over you”).

The two men from the Cult Jam sing from the boyfriend’s point of view. He realizes he made a mistake and never should’ve cheated on her. The other girl wasn’t worth risking his relationship. Now, he wants her back. (“Never wanted to see things you way/I had to go astray, oh, why was I such a fool?/Now I see that the grass is greener/Is it too late for me to find my way home”).

However, she retorts she’s not the cause for the problems in the relationship and doesn’t accept his apology. (“Romance up in flames, why should I take the blame/You were the one who left me neglected [I’m so sorry]/Apology not accepted, add me to the broken hearts you collected”).

Lisa Lisa’s vocals are the flaw in the single. She’s nasal and wooden in her delivery. It’s like she’s singing from cue cards. If her voice were stronger, it would’ve made the single worthy of its classic status

Standard

Leave a Reply

