Single Review: Destiny’s Child “Cater 2 U”

Cater 2 U
Album: Destiny Fulfilled
Year: 2005

Beyonce, Kelly Rowland, and Michelle Williams sacrifice their identity and needs to please their boyfriends in “Cater 2 U.”

The ballad begins with Beyonce (who else?) singing in their trademark fast paced fashion. She compliments her man on his hard work. She thinks he has the greatest job in the world and she’s beaming with pride at his accomplishments. (“Baby I see you working hard/I want to let you know I’m proud/let you know that I admire what you do”). It’s as modern as this single gets. She continues she wouldn’t have a life without him. Her boyfriend buys her whatever she wants and is the breadwinner in the family. (“don’t know if I need to reassure you, my life would be purposeless without you/If I want it (got it)/when I ask you (you provide it”). Through her boyfriend, Beyonce finds confidence to pursue her dreams. If she had any, though.(“you inspire me to be better/you challenge me for the better”).

Apparently her dream is to be a maid and the picture perfect wife found in ’50s sitcoms. She takes off his shoes and feeds him (“let me help you/take off your shoes/untie your shoestrings/let me feed you…whatever you desire/I’ll aspire”). She’ll sing for him and brush his hair. (“sing you a song…I’ll brush your hair…baby, I’m yours I want to cater 2 U boy”).

Destiny’s Child (Beyonce, really) tries to backpedal in the chorus by saying it’s only a special occasion and just for the day. (“let me cater 2 U/’cause baby this is your day/anything for my man…I got your slippers, your dinner, your dessert, and so much more.”

Rowland takes the second verse. She tells her boyfriend she’s glad he’s home. Otherwise, she wouldn’t know what to do with herself. She might accidently think and create her own opinion. I’m kidding on the last two sentences. It sounded really genuine, though, didn’t it? (“baby, I’m happy you’re home/let me hold you in my arms/I just want to take the stress away from you/making sure that I’m doing my part.”). She’s afraid her boyfriend will leave if he says no to anything he asks her to do. (“I know whatever I’m not fulfilling/another woman is willing”).

She promises him she will make sure she’s in make up and in stylish clothes for him everyday. Even if she looks ridiculous in the trendy fashions she has become too old to pull off. She’ll starve herself to maintain her figure if she has to and she won’t, by any means, develop her emotions past the age of 23. I’m not kidding anymore, by the way. (“I promise you/I’ll keep myself up/remain the same chick/you fell in love with/I’ll keep it tight, I’ll keep my figure right/I’ll keep my hair fixed/keep rocking the hottest outfits.”).
She’s happy to be his slave (“I’m here to serve you (I’m lovin’ it, I’m lovin’ it”).

Williams doesn’t even get a verse of her own. Instead, she sings the bridge. She talks to her man as if he were a god and she’s groveling at his feet It’s as though she’s reciting a prayer. (“I want to give you my breath, my strength, my will to be here…’cause you’re beautiful/I love the way you are/fulfill your every desire/your wish is my command/I want to cater to my man/your heart/so pure love shines through/the darkness we’ll get through/so much of me is you”).

The relationships Destiny’s Child are promoting are unhealthy. It’s one-sided and selfish. Destiny’s Child willingly become second-class citizens in their own lives and get taken advantage of. By being whomever their boyfriend wants them to be, they don’t learn how to be themselves. Eventually, this type of thinking creates resentment onces it’s revealed not everything is as perfect as it had been imagined to be.

Standard

Leave a Reply

