Single Review: Martika “Love…Thy Will Be Done”

Love…Thy Will Done
Album: Martika’s Kitchen
Year: 1991

Martika has found faith and isn’t afraid to believe in it anymore in the Prince penned ballad. “Love…Thy Will Be Done.”

Written as though if it were a prayer, she has faced the reality that she believes in God. She’s been denying it despite her feeling it. (“love…thy will be done/I can no longer hide/I can no longer run/No longer can I resist the guiding light”). Finding Him has given her hope and confidence (“It gives me the power to keep up the fight”).

Through faith, she has discovered herself and sees the world differently. (“Since I have found you my life has just begun/And I see all of your creations as one/Perfect, complex/No one less beautiful or more special than the next/We are all blessed and so wise to accept”).

Her faith has made her determined. She’s experiencing stability for I could not be more, more satisfied (satisfied)the first time in her life. (“Love, thy will be mine/And make me strive for the glorious and divine”). The people she sees may be violent or self-destructive in their lives due to not knowing themselves. However, she is calm and happy with herself. (“Even when there’s no peace outside my window/There’s peace inside/And that’s why I no longer run (I no longer run)/Love, thy will be done”).

The ambigious lyrics about love could be several things based on the interpretation. It’s well-written with a clear metaphor. However, Martika’s emotion in the single is just like her voice: weak and passive. Prince should’ve kept the song for himself.

Standard

Leave a Reply

