Single Review: Blink-182 “Feeling This’

Feeling This
Album: Blink- 182
Year: 2003

Blink-182 leave the gross jokes behind and turn to emo for the contradictory, haphazard “Feeling This.”

Tom DeLonge is aggressive and overcome with hormones as he makes out with his girlfriend. Finally, it leads to his girlfriend’s bedroom. (“I got no regret right now (I’m feeling this)…Let me go in her room (I’m feeling this)/I love all the things you do (I’m feeling this)/Show me the way to bed (I’m feeling this)…I love all the things you do (I’m feeling this”).

Then, in the chorus, tense changes take place as he becomes a teddy bear and wants to cuddle. It seems like they have broken up and he’s remembering their relationship. He’s not ready to let her go yet after leaving for the summer. (“Fate fell short this time/Your smile fades in the summer/Place your hand in mine/I’ll leave when I wanna”).

In the second verse, it’s post-coital and he and his girlfriend are basking in the glow of each other. Then, he wants more sex and can’t get enough of her. She’s his escape. I am giving them too much credit here. (“Where do we go from here…Smiling from ear to ear (I’m feeling this)/Our breathing has got too loud (I’m feeling this)…Show me the bedroom floor (I’m feeling this)…We’re taking this way too slow (I’m feeling this)/Take me away from here (I’m feeling this”).

For DeLonge, nobody is on the road or the beach. (“This place was never the same again/
after you came and went”). He wants to know if he was led on (“How can you say you meant anything different/To anyone standing alone/On the street with a cigarette/on the first night we met”). He’ll remember her long after the boys have summer have gone. (“Look to the past/And remember and smile/And maybe tonight/I can breathe for awhile/I think I’m fallin’ asleep/But then all that it means is/I’ll always be dreaming of you”).

“Feeling this” (said after the lyrics) only has immediacy for a few, select times in the song. Usually it’s when DeLonge yells the loudest. The phrase is overused and relies on the listener to figure out what DeLonge is feeling.

“Feeling This” is like reading a story with certain pages blanked out except for the beginning and end. It’s all over the place and doesn’t have any continuity to it whatsover.

Standard

Leave a Reply

