Single Review: Jason Mraz “The Remedy (I Won’t Worry)”

The Remedy (I Won’t Worry)
Album: Waiting For My Rocket To Come
Year: 2003

According to MTV.com, “The Remedy (I Won’t Worry”), co-written by the Matrix and Jason Mraz, was ” actually inspired by [Mraz’s] close friend who survived bone cancer.”

Mraz sees fireworks while driving on the freeway. The image stay with him all the way home. It’s a reminder of his friend who’s suffering from cancer. (“I saw fireworks from the freeway and behind closed eyes I cannot make them go away/Cause you were born on the fourth of july, freedom ring”). The image causes him worry and pain. He wonders why did he friend end up with having cancer and what type of God would allow people to slowly be killed. He promises his friend that they will find a cure. However, he does sort a medicine which will help — not worrying. (“that something on the surface it kind of makes me nervous who says that you deserve this/and what kind of god would serve this? We will cure this dirty old disease/if you’ve got the poison I’ve got the remedy”).

In the chorus, Mraz says the remedy is being able to pull through and not let the cancer get to his friend. (“the remedy is the experience. It is a dangerous liaison.”) Mraz tries to find humor to deal with the pain (“I say the comedy is that its serious/Which is a strange enough new play on words”). He tells his friend not to be afraid of death and thinking each breath might be his last. (“I say the tragedy is how you’re gonna spend the rest of your nights with the light on/So shine the light on all of your friends well it all amounts to nothing in the end/I won’t worry my life away”).

He listened to two talk show hosts on the radio discussing the ways America could be attacked again and being disgenious. The talk show hosts, in his opinion, could care less about the average people watching them. (“I heard two men talking on the radio in a cross fire kind of new reality show/Uncovering the ways to plan the next big attack/they were counting down the days to stab the brother in the be right back after this”). He changes the channel to a comedy where the guy has really bad breath, which the drama of the entire situation. (“the unavoidable kiss, where the minty fresh death breath is sure to outlast his catastrophe”).

In the bridge, he tells his friend he’s a patient person and there isn’t a rush to make decisions. His may friend is thinking he will be dying soon. But Mraz thinks he will live and isn’t going to be consumed with worry. (“When I fall in love I take my time/There’s no need to hurry when I’m making up my mind/You can turn off the sun but I’m still gonna shine and I’ll tell you why”).

After reading the lyrics did I notice there was an actual song and not a mess of sentences. It speeds by quicker than a car on the highway which is to its detriment. It’s lyrics are darker and meaningful, making it the direct opposite of the music accompanying it. One minor quibble: Mraz using the slang “da” instead of “the.”. “Da” is only acceptable if the person is Ali G and using it in a pure ironical sense. Mraz using it in a serious context is unintentionally funny.

Standard

Leave a Reply

