Single Review: Mary J. Blige “No More Drama”

According to Mary J. Blige (via MTV.com), the single “No More Drama” is about not allowing “anyone control me emotionally anymore.”

The touching single begins with a piano playing the “Young and Restless” theme. Over the sample, Blige comments that she’s weary from dealing with so much trouble and she’s had enough. She wants to move on to healthier relationships. (“So tired, tired of these drama/No more, no more/I wanna be free/I’m so tired, so tired”).

She’s recently been betrayed by a friend and has learned from the experience. In the future, she’s going to rely on herself and her instincts. (“Broken heart again/Another lesson learn/Better know your friends/Or else you will get burn/Gotta count on me/Cause I can guarantee/That I’ll be fine”).

In the chorus, she says she doesn’t want to be miserable anymore and vows not to let anyone make her feel badly about herself ever again. (“No more pain (no more pain)…No drama (no more drama in my life)/No one’s gonna make me hurt again”).

She questions her naivete in the past. She’s had her share of good and terrible memories with the friend she mentioned. However, Blige had seen the betrayal coming, she wished it wouldn’t really happen. She used to be attracted to self-destructive relationships when she was younger and didn’t think about the future. However, the consequences have become present, leading her to weep. She wants a fresh start. (“Why’d I play the fool/Go through ups and downs/Knowing all the time/You wouldn’t be around/Or maybe I like the stress/Cause I was young and restless/But that was long ago/I don’t wanna cry no more”).

The chorus is extended the second time and has additional lyrics. She adds that she no longer wants to be manipulated or full of sorrow. She doesn’t want to be afraid to trust. She wants to be open with people. (“No more game (no more game messin with my mind)…no one’s gonna make me hurt again…no more tears (no more tears, I’m tired of cryin every night)/No more fears (no more fears, I really don’t wanna cry)…I don’t ever wanna hurt again/Wanna speak my mind, wanna speak my mind”).

Blige is relieved that she is able to have stable friendships without the unnecessary backstabbing. As she celebrates for finding happiness, she advises other people to look for their own. She doesn’t know how the rest of the life is going to be. Only God knows the answer for that. However, she does have the power to let it be either have a stable or unsatsifying life. She wants to lead a fulfilling life that isn’t marred with melancholy. (“Uh, it feels so good/when you let go/avoid the drama in your life/Now you’re free from all the pain/Free from all the game/Free from all the stress/So find your happiness/I don’t know/Only God knows where the story ends for me/But I know where the story begins/It’s up to us to choose/Whether we win or lose/Whether we win or lose”).

Blige adlibs some lyrics to the chorus. She doesn’t want to second guess her decisions or have sleepless nights. (“…no more game (tired of your playin’ game with my mind)/No more, no more, no more, no more….no more fears (no more waking be up in the morning)…no drama, no more in my life”).

For the last minute of the single, she proclaims that she is free of drama in her life. A choir joins her. (“No more drama, no more drama…No more drama”). Then, the music becomes quiet as a piano plays. It then segues into the “Young and Restless” theme as Blige says she’s “so tired of this drama.”

Blige sings with strong conviction. Although she’s now surrounded by healthy relationships by the end of the single, the sting of the past heartaches can still be heard in her voice.

“The Young and the Restless,” taken from an American soap opera, is an approriate sample which is used sparsely and at certain moments.

“No More Drama” is a delightful R&B gem with a positive message, a rarity in the genre.

Standard

Leave a Reply

