Single Review: Pink “Most Girls”

Most Girls
Album: Can’t Take Me Home
Year: 2000

Pink no longer wants lead the glamorous life and wants to find a boyfriend who will love her for who she is in the slang-heavy “Most Girls.”

The tame thumping drums and keyboards open the single. Pink says she’s not the type of girl to fall in love. She didn’t want to bother with relationships and only cared about her paycheck. She considers herself an attractive girl. However, she’s outgrown living a lavish lifestyle. She has a good job, a nice car, and a great place to live but doesn’t find life exciting anymore. (“I never cared too much for love/It was all a bunch of mush that I just did not want/Paid was the issue of the day…couldn’t be more fly, gettin’ paid was everything/But I’m not every girl and I don’t need that world to validate me/Cuz shorty’s got a job, shorty’s got a car, shorty can pay her own rent/Don’t wanna dance if it is not in my heart”).

In the chrous, Pink says a lot of the girls she knows only date guys who wear lots of gold jewelry around their necks. However, she’s looking for a guy who loves her personality and quirks, not her money. She adds they also want guys with lots of money. But she’s not going to get involved with a guy unless he has the qualities she likes. (“Most girls want a man with the bling bling/Got my own thing, got the ching ching/I just want real love/Most girls want a man with the mean green/Don’t wanna dance if he can’t be everything that I dream of/A man that understands real love”).

After the chorus, muffled background singers exaggerate their operatic “Uh Uh…aahhs”

She used to show off whatever her current boyfriend bought her to all her friends. She didn’t care about the significance of it, only how much the gift cost. Her motto was to meet a guy with plenty of money who will buy jewelry. She notes it may seem cool to have a rich boyfriend but the relationship means nothing. She’s not like anymore and she doesn’t her boyfriends to take of her anymore. (“I was a girl about the floss/It was all about the cost, how much he spent on me/Seek, for a man who’s got the means/To be givin’ you diamond rings/It’s what every fly girl could want or even dream/But I’m not every girl and I don’t need no G to take care of me…”).

After the chorus is sung twice, Pink repeats the last section of the second verse (“But I’m not every girls….don’t wanna dance if it is not in my heart, oh most girls”).

In the bridge, Pink once again says she’s not the other girls she knows and wants a meaningful relationship. (“Cuz I’m not most girls, don’t wanna dance if he can’t be everything/I, I just want real love, said I gotta have real love/Everything that, can you be everything that I dream of”).

“Most Girls” is well-sung with Pink. However, she’s dragged down with the then-lingo used to appeal to teenagers in 2000. Several years later, “Most Girls” is outdated and silly despite having a solid theme.

Standard

Leave a Reply

