Single Review: Kid Rock & Sheryl Crow “Picture”

Picture
Album: Cocky
Year: 2002

Kid Rock and Sheryl Crow screw around on each other but still wish to be together in the dysfunctional “Picture.”

A drab guitar strums in the background as Kid Rock begins his section. Kid Rock is miserable and can’t stand to look at himself. In order to escape from it, he locks himself inside and pulls the shades. In the darkness, he numbs himself on drugs and alcohol. He also sleeps with any girl who flirts with him. But he justifies his cheating by thinking he doesn’t really have a girlfriend. Even though he has a picture of her which he has to hide from view. Otherwise, he’ll feel guilty. He hopes to become a better person. However, it’s not going to be anytime soon. (“Livin’ my life in a slow hell/Different girl every night at the hotel/I ain’t seen the sun shine in 3 damn days/Been fuelin’ up on cocaine and whiskey/Wish I had a good girl to miss me/Lord I wonder if I’ll ever change my ways.”)

Hokey handclaps start the pre-chorus. A twangy guitar shows off in an attempt to give the song credibilty for country music fans. But it’s doomed due to its own banality. (“I put your picture away/Sat down and cried today/I can’t look at you while I’m lyin’ next to her/I put your picture away, sat down and cried today/I can’t look at you, while I’m lyin next to her.”)

Nosy background singers “ooh” like it’s some sort of fascinating soap opera.

The handclaps continue. While Kid Rock was sleeping with another girl, Sheryl Crow left a message for him on hte phone. His friends know why he’s avoiding her. But they don’t have the heart to tell her the truth. In the meantime, she’s been drinking as she waits for his call. She believes it’s over and put his picture away in the drawer. She’s been sleeping with someone else, too. Although she’s really thinking of Kid Rock the entire time. (“I called you last night in the hotel/Everyone knows but they won’t tell/But their half hearted smiles tell me/Somethin’ just ain’t right/I been waitin’ on you for a long time/Fuelin’ up on heartaches and cheap wine/I ain’t heard from you in 3 damn nights/I put your picture away/I wonder where you been/I can’t look at you while I’m lyin’ next to him/I put your picture away/I wonder where you been/I can’t look at you while I’m lyin’ next to him.”)

The background singers manufacture some more drama (“ooh”)

Sheryl Crow sees him walking with one of his longtime friends. Kid Rock and her engage in empty, small talk. They both say they’ve been depressed during their seperation. For Kid Rock, she’s his self-esteem booster. But Crow just wants to hear something substantial from him. She wished she would’ve had some time to hang out with him. As she heads off to church, he goes to bar to stop himself from feeling any emotions whatsoever. Crow and Kid Rock need to stop having conversations with their LaBatt’s and speak to each other instead. (“I saw ya yesterday with an old friend/It was the same ole same “how have you been”/Since you been gone my world’s been dark and gray/You reminded me of brighter days/I hoped you were comin’ home to stay/I was headed to church/I was off to drink you away.”)

The twangy guitar has a flashy solo and accompanied by drums.

At the end, they both say they wonder about each other. They don’t know why they are so self-destructive and sabotaging the relationship. They both promise not to make the same mistakes again. They love each other and want to work it out. (“I thought about you for a long time/Can’t seem to get you off my mind/I can’t understand why we’re living life this way/
I found your picture today/I swear I’ll change my ways/I just called to say I want you to come back home/I found your picture today/I swear I’ll change my ways/I just called to say I want you to come back home/I just called to say, I love you come back home.”)

The purposeless “Picture” features a failed romance with two unappealing characters. Kid Rock refuses to feel any emotion other than instant gratification. He’s unsympathetic and selfish. While he says he may want to change, he’s already addicted to his wild lifestyle.

Crow comes across as weak-willed and submissive. She promises to change also. Aside from having a rebound guy, she hasn’t done anything to apologize to Kid Rock for. Their love is nonexistent and shallow. The only thing lasting are the STD’s which are surely going around from person to person.

Standard

Leave a Reply

