Single Review: Baby Bash & Akon “Baby, I’m Back”

Baby, I’m Back
Album: Super Saucy
Year: 2005

Baby Bash returns to his girlfriend after trading up for someone else in the foul “Baby, I’m Back.”

Rinky-dink keyboards accompany Akon as he adlibs “oohs” and “yeah” in the intro. He leadenly speaks for Baby Bash. He sings Baby Bash will do anything for his girlfriend. Baby Bash tweets that all she has to do is say ‘when.’ (“Said everything that you want me to I’ll do it/Tell me what the word is already/Tell me what the word is already/tell me what the word is already/tell me what the word is already.”)

The chorus starts the single. Akon weakly announces Bash’s return. He’ll wait on her hand and foot. He’ll make love to her and listen to her. If she asks him to do anything, he’ll do it without complaint. (“Don’t look no farther!/Baby I’m back (yeah)/I’m here to cater to you (any thing that you want me: do I’ll do it)/Cause I’ll be your lover (I’ll be your lover)/
I’ll be your best friend/Tell me what I gotta do (tell me what I gotta do and I’ll do it)

An arrogant Bash says he’s really there to stay. He tells her she can live again while affectionately calling her “suga suga, ” which references his first hit. He’s not going to leave her alone again. He dated another woman who lived in the next town. He jusitifies for his trading up as being honorable. He claims he didn’t cheat or abuse her which makes his cruelty to her less worse in his mind. He wants to know what he can do to be a great boyfriend to her. He now thinks his relationship is meant to last forever. That is, until someone else who seems better comes along. (“Now I’m back in a flesh/Feelin’ so blessed, back in your corner suga, suga don’t stress/Forget about the rest; let’s go inside, I’m back in your zone/Baby I’m back in your vibe, now I can’t be denied I can lie I’m on ya/I never ever wanna say sayonara/Somebody told me that the grass was greener/On the other side of lake Arriba/Never really used to be a mean to cheat her/What I gotta do to be a keeper/These words comin’ out the speaker, true love is off the meter.”)

He repeats the same ideas in the next verse but with different sentences. He left, he came back. He apologizes for sowing his wild oats. He demands that his girlfriend drop the guy she was seeing and to tells the guy to stop chewing him out. He tells her to close her profile on dating websites. He says he’s perfect for her and there’s no one would be better for her and adds that he’s the whole package. He compliments on her good looks, which seems to be the only clear reason he went back to her. (“I was gone for a minute but now I’m home/Please forgive me for being a rolling stone…Get off the phone till he swears to leave me alone/Let my start your interest, now there’s no more dating on the internet/Cause you already know how I get it wet, how I get it so saucy and I get respect/You don’t have to look no farther, you dealin’ with the whole enchilada/You don’t have to look no farther, you hotter then a fire starter.”)

In the bridge, Bash again repeats four times that he was away briefly. Akon “oohhs” in the background. He then repeats four times that he’s with her again. (“I was gone for a minute, (oooohhh)/Now I’m back let me hit it (oooohhh.”)

The chorus is sung twice to end the single.

In the self-applauding “Baby, I’m Back,” Bash thinks he’s God’s gift to women. He expects his ex-girlfriend to think of him as the center of her life. She cannot be anything without him. With a snap of his fingers, he can get his ex-girlfriend back while he was able to date anyone who wanted. He doesn’t even give his girlfriend a choice. He plops himself right back into her life, telling her dump whomever she was dating before she can even say “no.”

Standard

Leave a Reply

